Indian Rebellion of 1857
Connexipedia Article
Resource Type:  Article
Cx Number:  CX9798

The Indian Rebellion of 1857 began as a mutiny of sepoys of the British East India Company's army on 10 May, 1857, in the town of Meerut, and soon erupted into other mutinies and civilian rebellions largely in the upper Gangetic plain and central India, with the major hostilities confined to present-day Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, northern Madhya Pradesh, and the Delhi region.

Subject Headings

Insert T_CxShareButtonsHorizontal.html here